Comelec proclaims 28 winning party-list groups

Published by reposted only Date posted on May 31, 2010

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Monday proclaimed the 28 winning party-list organizations in the 2010 automated polls.

Comelec chairman Jose Melo, reading an en banc resolution, announced on Monday afternoon that the following party-list organizations will be awarded seats in the 15th House of Representatives:

Coalition of Association of Senior Citizens in the Philippines — 1,292,182 votes (2 seats)
Akbayan Citizen’s Action Party — 1,058,691 votes (2 seats)
Gabriela Women’s Party — 1,001,421 votes (2 seats)
Cooperative Natcco Network Party — 943,529 votes (2 seats)
ABONO — 766,615 votes (2 seats)
Bayan Muna — 746,019 votes (2 seats)
An Waray — 711,631 votes (2 seats)
Agricultural Sector Alliance of the Philippines, Inc. (AGAP) — 515,501 votes (1 seat)
Alliance for Barangay Concerns Party (ABC) — 469,093 votes (1 seat)
Anakpawis — 445,628 votes (1 seat)
Kabataan Party-list — 417,923 votes (1 seat)
Abante Mindanao, Inc. (ABANAMIN) — 376,011 votes (1 seat)
Act Teachers — 369,564 votes (1 seat)
You Against Corruption and Poverty (YACAP) — 335,635 votes (1 seat)
Ang Kasangga sa Kaunlaran, Inc. (Ang Kasangga) — 296,368 votes (1 seat)
Bagong Henerasyon (BH) — 292,875 votes (1 seat)
Ang Galing Pinoy (AGP) — 269,009 votes (1 seat)
Agbiag! Timpuyog Ilocano, Inc. (AGBIAG) — 262,298 votes (1 seat)
Puwersa ng Bayaning Atleta (PBA) — 238,675 votes (1 seat)
Arts Business and Science Professionals — 257,301 votes (1 seat)
Trade Union Congress of the Philippines (TUCP) — 244,623 votes (1 seat)
Alyansa ng mga Grupong Haligi ng Agham at Teknolohiya Para sa Mamayan, Inc. (AGHAM) — 241,898 votes (1 seat)
Democratic Independent Workers Association (DIWA)
Kapatiran ng mga Nakulong na Walang Sala — 234,717 votes (1 seat)
Kalinga Advocacy for Social Empowerment and Nation Building Through Easing Poverty, Inc. (Kalinga) — 229,198 votes (1 seat)
Alagad Party-list — 227,116 votes (1 seat)
1 Angg Pamilya — 217,032 votes (1 seat)
Alliance of Volunteer Educators — 214,760 (1 seat)

Melo has deferred the proclamation of 11 party-list groups which have pending disqualification cases filed against them or their nominees. These are:

Ako Bicol Political Party
Buhay Hayaan Yumabong Party-list
1st Consumers Alliance for Rural Energy (1-CARE)
Citizens’ Battle Against Corruption (CIBAC)
LPG Marketers Association, Inc. (LPGMA)
Ang Asosayon Sang Manguguma Nga Bisaya-Ow Mangunguma, Inc. (MBIS-OWA)
Association of Philippien Electric Cooperatives (APEC)
Alliance for Nationalism and Democracy (ANAD)
Advocacy for Teacher Empowerment Through Action Cooperation and Harmony Towards Educational Reforms (A Teacher)
Butil Farmer Party (BUTIL)

The Party-list System Act (Republic Act 7941) says that those who received at least two percent of the total votes cast for the party-list system shall be entitled to one congressional seat each while those who received more than two percent of the votes shall be entitled to additional seats in proportion to their total number of votes.

However, each party-list organization shall not be awarded more than three seats in Congress.

The Comelec has yet to receive all the votes cast for the party-list system, specifically from areas where there were failure of elections.

Included in these areas are seven municipalities of Lanao del Sur, two municipalities of Basilan, and one municipality of Sarangani – where special polls have been scheduled on June 3.

The 1987 Philippine Constitution provides that 20 percent of the seats in Congress be allotted for the sectoral representatives. – RJAB Jr., GMANews.TV

Get Email from TUCP
Categories for Archives articles